Tea: History Terroirs Varieties

Tea: History Terroirs Varieties

An illustrated guide to understanding the nuances of the tea plant as found around the world.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(39 Ratings, 38 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
A good book on tea with excellent pictures
Joan (United States) 6/24/2016 10:49 AM
I bought this book because I was interested in learning more about tea. I wanted to better understand how tea was produced, the differences among different types of tea, and what makes good tea good. This book mostly satisfied these interests. _Tea_ reviewed production methods for each type of tea as produced by each major tea producing country, especially China, Japan, India, and Taiwan. The sections on China and Japan were excellent. _Tea_ stepped through key tea producing regions for each country, describing what tea was produced and how, tea culture, and sometimes how the climate affected the tea. Some history of tea cultivation was given for each country. This book fell a little short in explaining what made good teas good. _Tea_ briefly reviewed the CTC method of production, greatly emphasized orthodox methods, and associated CTC processing with lower quality teas. I guessed that the particle size due to CTC processing lead to faster leaching of bitter components, which would not be extracted from whole leaves under similar steeping conditions. I guessed that CTC was also associated with machine harvesting, which impacted tea quality. However, _Tea_ did not directly corroborate these guesses. This book contained some pleasant content beyond my primary interests. The preface was written by Francois Chartier, Sommelier. _Tea_ contains lots of great tidbits from a tasting perspective. (1) Tasting notes for notable teas from each terroir. (2) A guide to tasting tea with good instructions, tips, visual aids, and a taste wheel. (3) Tea preparation tips, including advice on tea pots (e.g. material of construction, Yixing teapots, kyusu teapots), infusion temperature and time, and different techniques of preparing tea (e.g. gaiwan, matcha with bamboo whisk).
ratingratingratingratingrating
Gift to a friend
Viveret Steele (United States) 6/24/2016 10:46 AM
Bought it for a friend and they loved it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Absolute must for anyone looking for an in-depth tea book on new and exotic teas
Jen W. (United States) 6/24/2016 10:45 AM
As a tea enthusiast, this is a fantastic book for non-beginners. It is detailed and provides a ton of interesting information on exotic teas that you wouldn't find at a Starbucks. Many of the books I looked at were too introductory and few actually provided this level of detail with glossy images and tasting notes. I highly recommend this for any tea connoisseur.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Romeo IS (United States) 6/24/2016 10:42 AM
Best book about tea!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Amazon Customer (United States) 6/24/2016 10:41 AM
I love it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Excellent book for beginners or maybe experts can find something ...
JS Texas (Katy, TX) 6/24/2016 10:39 AM
Excellent book for beginners or maybe experts can find something new in here as well, the book is actually packed with knowledge ans useful information. No fluff here.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Ms el (New Jersey, USA) 6/24/2016 10:36 AM
Very informative...
ratingratingratingratingrating
beautifully illustrated and well organized
PDXbibliophile (United States) 6/24/2016 10:34 AM
I came across this book by accident, read the reviews, and decided on buying it on a whim. It is everything the reviewers claimed! Very informative, beautifully illustrated and well organized. It does overlap in some of the information contained in the Tea Sommelier, but they are very different kinds of books. This book provides more of a broad overview of tea cultivation, harvesting and processing which is not included in the other book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
The tea bible
Martha Jones (United States) 6/24/2016 10:33 AM
If you are looking for a book on tea that is not as expensive or concise as "Tea Sommelier" for example, then this would be an excellent choice. This is a good size paperback but is thorough in both textual presentation and photos. While the photos may not be as artistic as those found in the above mentioned option, they are still excellent. This book contains far more textual information than you would find in more books on this topic. Charts and graphs at the end present the chemical make up of each kind of tea. The amount of caffeine in each kind of tea or the amount of antioxidants are clearly charted. Texture, taste, color, and history of each kind of tea is presented. How to prepare is covered. The correct water temperature is indicated. The global areas that grow tea are discussed. Regional differences are detailed. The Terroirs of tea are analyzed in relation to the characteristics of each type. This is a very detailed book. It's too bad that hardcover is out of print.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
bernice shockley (United States) 6/24/2016 10:31 AM
good great
ratingratingratingratingrating
Nicely illustrated, well explained
Katarina Bakerova (San Francisco, CA) 6/24/2016 10:29 AM
The book details origins of tea through times. Nicely illustrated, well explained, an easy read with interesting and instructive information.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Jackpot
Penny L DAbato (United States) 6/23/2016 4:01 PM
I hit the jackpot got two great tea books.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Awesome book!
Felix (United States) 6/23/2016 3:53 PM
This book is awesome. It's super informative, but still interesting to read for someone who knows their way around tea. I love the pictures and the interviews.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea enthusiasts rejoice!
Garrett (Milwaukee, WI) 6/23/2016 3:51 PM
Although I bought this book several months ago, I started reading it a few days ago and finally finished it after rigorous reading for a few days. I LOVE this book. It reads very well, and gives you very useful information for tea enthusiasts and newcomers alike! My favorite thing about this book is the history of each country with tea, and the descriptions of each tea at the end of the sections. Makes me crave these exceptional teas! Got to find somewhere to get them! Not only is their great information, but you will find many great pictures tbroughout the book. This book is just as finally crafted as the many teas that are described throughout this book!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
W. J. Bryan (Manhattan Beach, CA) 6/23/2016 3:48 PM
Beautifully produced, very informative
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Pamela Batchelor (Hendersonville, NC) 6/23/2016 3:46 PM
This is a great book on tea. Lots to learn.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Monica (United States) 6/23/2016 3:45 PM
Pretty nice
ratingratingratingratingrating
Lovely book, beautiful photos, Nice, indepth writing. Very decent price.
Lu (United States) 6/23/2016 3:44 PM
Lovely book. Beautiful photos, as in depth as I wanted. I love history and cultural differences. This has a nice blend of history and cultural use and explanations of types of teas and their uses. If you want a basic guide, this may seem to in depth, I love it though because it is.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Four Stars
Pedro (United States) 6/23/2016 3:41 PM
A nice book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Allison Jones-Lo (Santa Fe, NM) 6/23/2016 3:33 PM
Loved it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Lauran Star (United States) 6/23/2016 3:31 PM
Love how simple yet complete this book is on Tea's
ratingratingratingratingrating
Beautiful and informative book
Dina Cataldo (United States) 6/23/2016 3:28 PM
This is a beautiful book. Obviously, it's about tea, so I won't get into the contents too much. The photos are lovely, and it's the perfect coffee table book. It's easy to read and well-organized.
ratingratingratingratingrating
For the connoisseur of tea
Marianne Hummelshoj (United States) 6/23/2016 3:27 PM
Very competent explanations, wonderful illustrations. I recommend this book if you want to go in depth of the world of teas.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Talbot Sprague Hook (United States) 6/23/2016 3:25 PM
Truly excellent, in every way.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Kathleen B. (United States) 6/23/2016 3:24 PM
Beautiful pictures. Well written and interesting.
page12