A Social History of Tea

A Social History of Tea - Jane Pettigrew & Bruce Richardson

This is the illustrated - and fascinating - story of tea's incredible influence on western culture over four centuries. Find it in the gift shops at Monticello or Mt. Vernon, and better tea shops across North America. Autographed copy.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(11 Ratings, 10 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Pettigrew Social History of Tea Fantastic (rev ed)
Nadine M. White (United States) 6/8/2016 1:31 PM
Marvelous! Marvelous! Marvelous! Lots of great pics and good USA/Britain continuity in history.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Four Stars
Carol Adams (United States) 6/8/2016 1:30 PM
Bought as a gift. Recipient really likes it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love this book!
C Toth (United States) 6/8/2016 1:29 PM
Excellent book if you love anything to do with tea. The entire history all in one lovely book. Have it sitting on my tearoom table.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good Book
Mstar (PA USA) 6/8/2016 1:25 PM
I am enjoying this book. As a tea drinker, it's very interesting to learn about the history of tea. And all of the things associated with it, teapots, cups, etc. Enjoy reading it with a cup of tea by my side.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea history from both sides of the pond
Kimbal S. Babcock (Flagstaff, AZ) 6/8/2016 1:16 PM
I have and loved the first addition, but this second addition adds the American Tea History which is a plus for us American tea lovers.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Interesting and Enjoyable Book
Judy (United States) 6/8/2016 1:14 PM
Very thorough, interesting research on the growth of tea as a social and economic commodity in the UK and in the US.
ratingratingratingratingrating
An abundance of rest and pleasure on every page
Laurel Ann (Seattle, WA) 6/8/2016 1:13 PM
The tale of tea is a captivating story revealed in A SOCIAL HISTORY OF TEA, a new expanded second edition by British tea authority Jane Pettigrew and American tea historian Bruce Richardson. Originally published in 2001 by The National Trust, this new edition has been revised and expanded and includes the research of two tea authorities from both sides of the pond. We are so internationally bipartisan these days—I am sure that mad King George III must be rolling in his grave!....... Richly detailed and agreeably accessible, A SOCIAL HISTORY OF TEA is both enlightening and entertaining. Every important historical, economic and social aspect is covered. I particularly appreciated the details surrounding the forming and growth of The East India Trading Company, the Boston Tea Party of 1773 which sparked the American Revolution, and the rise of tea rooms suitable for respectable ladies to dine out at the end of the nineteenth century. We can also thank the Victorian’s for raising tea-time to an art form chock-full of the incredibly delicious fare we enjoy today. In Jane Austen’s world “tea meant rest and pleasure, and its absence would be a severe disappointment.” (127) Pettigrew and Richardson have combined detailed history, social asides and beautiful illustrations covering the four centuries that we have enjoyed tea—its rise and fall in popularity—and rebirth. A SOCIAL HISTORY OF TEA is the resource for those who would like to discover even more about this delectable beverage. There is a guaranteed abundance of rest and pleasure on every page. I recommend it highly.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A Must-have for the Tea Enthusiast's Library
Jennifer C. Petersen (Vancouver, WA) 6/8/2016 1:09 PM
A Social History of Tea - the Expanded Version - is an excellent tea reference book as well as a good read. Bruce Richardson and Jane Pettigrew have a way of writing a history book that is up-to-date and upbeat in tone. They never fail to please. Jane Pettigrew is well-known as an enthusiast tea historian who shares her knowledge and love of tea around the world. It is well worth the time to research her author's page and website. Bruce Richardson, Elmwood Inn and Benjamin Press, is more recently acclaimed for his tea history contributions to the Boston Tea Party commemoration. More about the commemoration can be found at bostonteapartyship.com. Mr. Richardson's tea articles can be read in Fresh Cup magazine, Tea Time (Hoffman Media), and other tea/history/gourmet magazines. The book isn't just another pretty face although the cover is quite beautiful. A Social History of Tea gives us insight into the growing influence of tea upon society.
ratingratingratingratingrating
An excellent history of tea in the western world
Allison Jones-Lo (Sante Fe, NM) 4/26/2016 1:09 PM
An excellent history of tea in the western world. Lots of lovely details I didn't know about America's history and how tea played a role in it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
British and American influence.
Gary Sprandel (Frankfort, KY) 4/26/2016 1:06 PM
Up front, this book is focused on history in Great Britain and the United States only. The respective author’s know there stuff, Pettigrew for Britain, has operated Tea-time tea shop and classes, and Bruce Richardson is blender importer for Elmwood Inn tea, in Danville Kentucky. And so us American’s won’t feel tea-inferior it was drank in in New York in 1647 when Peter Stuyvesant arrived as governor, compared to England's first reference to tea in Samuel Pepys diary in 1660. There is a chapter for each century from the seventeenth, the current (and I would have appreciated a speculative chapter on the future of tea). For me, some of the most interesting paragraphs charted the price of tea, and influences on that price, for example in 1690 on household spend 26 British pounds for a pound of tea, while a lawyer at the time may only earn 20 pounds annually! On this side of the pond, we are all aware of the Boston Tea Party but who knew that Jefferson enjoyed Hyson tea (a kind that was dumped over at Boston). The book is well illustrated, for example when talking about Clippers there is both a diagram of loading the tea, and a reproduction of a Currier and Ives lithograph of 1875. These clippers took around 100 days, so think about our ‘fresh’ tea now. I particularly enjoyed the tea in literature, including Jane Austin, Charles Dickens (David Copperfield) (but why no mention of his article of brewing tea),. Now the book would have to be updated to include Downtown Abbey. Readers of this may enjoy Benjamin Presses edition of Kakuzo Okakura’s “The Book of Tea. .
page1