The Great Tea Rooms of Britain

The Great Tea Rooms of Britain

SAVE on the world's first full-color book on the art of afternoon tea in Britain. New expanded edition. Autographed copy.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(16 Ratings, 15 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
A delicious read!
Donna (United States) 6/8/2016 4:29 PM
I love that he offers ideas for sightseeing while you are in the area for each tea room. We're planning a Tea Room Tour of England and are filling in the mornings and afternoons with most of his suggestions. Love, love, love this book! A delicious read with a cup of tea.
ratingratingratingratingrating
a great help to someone that hasent bean to engalnd before ...
bernadette cain (United States) 6/8/2016 4:28 PM
awsome, a great help to somone that hasent bean to england before like myself, and want that old english expirance, this book narows it down to some of the best, and has some great recipies to try in the last chapter
ratingratingratingratingrating
Four Stars
Nicole Rehorst (United States) 6/8/2016 4:27 PM
No problems
ratingratingratingratingrating
More than scones and crumpets
Sand castle lover (United States) 6/8/2016 4:27 PM
Gorgeous photography, good geographic coverage, recipes quite varied from watercress tea sandwiches to a ploughman's lunch. A mouthwatering read that beckons you back to enjoy teatime as it should be done.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Transport yourself to England
Mariann H. (United States) 6/8/2016 4:25 PM
This book is the best I have seen of its kind. The book is of the best quality, with heavy glossy pages. The book is organized by the different locations in England Southwest, London, East etc. Each section of the book lists a great tea room, it's history, interesting facts about the town and places of interest in the area. Throughout the pages you will find beautiful photographs. The end of the book includes traditional English tearoom recipes. This particular book would make a lovely gift for anyone interested in England it's culture and it's tea rooms. I highly recommend. I couldn't decide if I wanted to keep this book with my collection of recipe books or display it on my coffee table, I chose the later. It is now in a place where I can see the beautiful cover and from time to time glance through it once again, even though I have read it twice from cover to cover. Great book!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good
LadyM (United States) 6/8/2016 4:24 PM
This book was everything I expected from a coffee table book. I am from England, so it made it more memorable for me.
ratingratingratingratingrating
British Tea Rooms
EAS (Tallahassee) 6/8/2016 4:23 PM
A lovely book and nice mix of the various tea rooms and recipes. Just wish there had been a few more recipes.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Like being there!
Lynn in Tulsa (Tulsa) 6/8/2016 4:22 PM
This is a wonderful book - you feel as if you were there in each tea room, elegant or rustic, right in London or in some exotic little village. There is an additional travelogue in each section, so that if you decide to visit a particular tea room in Britain, you will have great information on side trips. If the words "quaint," "picturesque," and "historic" - or "tea" - appeal to you, you will enjoy this book. I have recently gotten into afternoon tea in a big way and am building a library on related topics. This book is an excellent addition to my collection.
ratingratingratingratingrating
You can almost smell the tea brewing and the scones baking!
Nancy Lorraine (United States) 6/8/2016 4:21 PM
The Great Tea Rooms of Britain is a beautiful coffee (or tea) table edition compiling scrumptious descriptions and color photographs of twenty-two of Britain's finest tea rooms. Along with some detailed history, each chapter suggests several walking tours or short drives nearby that will round out the tea itinerary quite nicely. Locations include London, Scotland, Bath, the Lake district, and more. A handy list of tea room addresses, web sites and phone numbers will help the visitor to plan ahead and make reservations where necessary. Last but not least, a lovely collection of recipes completes the book, with measurements adapted to American standard usage. Whether the reader is a determined, experienced traveler or an armchair dreamer, The Great Tea Rooms of Britain is sure to enchant and enrich. You can almost smell the tea brewing and the scones baking!
ratingratingratingratingrating
A Great and insightful beautiful book
LadyPendragon (Upstate, SC) 6/8/2016 4:20 PM
I am new to the love of the history of tea. I ordered this book not only because I wanted to learn more about tea but because we are planning a trip to Ireland this spring. I know Ireland is famous for its pubs but I wanted to see if they also have some great tea houses. this book is a beautiful coffee table style book with gorgeous pictures and interesting facts. The Great Tea Rooms of Britain I have Great Tea Rooms of America on my wishlist. Great Tea Rooms of America
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Tea Rooms of Britain (2008 edition)
L. Jennings (Kentucky, USA) 6/8/2016 4:17 PM
The perfect book for this anglophile tea-lover who has traveled to Britain five times. I love the photography, layout and additional information in this updated version.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A way to take a vacation from your armchair
J. Churchill (Anaheim, CA) 6/8/2016 4:15 PM
The author does a nice job of introducing us to some of the pretty places in Britain. The descriptions are good and the pictures pretty. I would like to see the complete menu in order to plan my visits. The complete address and phone number would be helpful. The book is a lovely one to inspire you.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Info on tea rooms
Doug (Australia ) 6/8/2016 4:14 PM
We have found the information invaluable as we are setting up an English style Tea Room in Australia. The information contained has answered many questions as to stock,presentation, even back ground music. The recipes are just brilliant. I would recommend ths book as superb reference as well as entertaining reading for lovers of tea and all the frills that go with it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best of 5
Sophie (California, USA) 6/8/2016 4:13 PM
In my search for an authentic British tea recipe book, I've been mostly disappointed; however, this last book I purchased was one of the exceptions. Though the author is American, he did his research, scouring the land for good tea rooms and sharing some of their recipes. He does a splendid job of transporting you there and the recipes are many and authentically British. There are several typos (e.g., a recipe for raspberry tart lists strawberries as the ingredient rather than raspberries), which is odd considering this is the latest of many editions, and it bothered me that though there were lots of appealing photos of desserts, few of them were of the actual recipes. But these are relatively minor points compared to the other books that I've so far purchased. Another good book is the Ritz tea book
ratingratingratingratingrating
I used this guide to find the best tea in UK
Roxanne (Memphis) 5/9/2016 4:08 PM
I have traveled to the UK several times over the past five years and I always consult this beautiful book before heading out to tea. I've had 12 of the tea room managers sign my well-worn copy!
page1