Culinary Tea

Culinary Tea by Cynthia Gold & Lise Stern

Boston Tea Somellier Cynthia Gold is the author of Culinary Tea, the number one resource for infusing tea into your cuisine.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(34 Ratings, 34 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Worth more than 5 Stars!
Vinnie's Mommy (United States) 6/23/2016 1:05 PM
This is much more than a recipe book. It covers the history of tea, the different types and regions of tea and information on how to steep and store tea. The recipes don't start until Page 60, so there is some serious information provided to prepare you for the recipes. And then the recipes aren't your everyday fluff as seen in many books. These are very nice and unusual and some twists on your everyday foods and condiments. Yes, condiments like Matcha Mayonnaise, Tea-smoked Salt, an 11 Spice Rub, Earl Grey Dried Cherry Mustard,or Oolong Mayonnaise and numerous more. There are appetizers, soups, salads, salad dressings, and cakes. There are entrees of beef, fish, pork, poultry. There are tea-infused sides, beverages and even Chicken Pesto Pizza with Kukicha Crust.. There are desserts, such as a Milk Chocolate Keemun Truffle. The glossary starts on page 272, and the book isn't filled with photos, so between pages 60-272, you get pages of recipes, most with 2 recipes per page. There are 7 pages of the index, in small print with 3 columns each page. That alone should give you an idea of how many recipes are included in this great book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Another way to enjoy tea
spettitt (Texas, USA) 6/23/2016 1:04 PM
I love tea and I love cooking with tea. The recipe that caught my eye is the marbled egg recipe on the cover. It was the first one I tried from the book. Came out great and was a hit at a neighborhood dinner party. There are many wonderful recipes in this book I look forward to trying. Use the "look inside" feature to get an idea.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Creative
Georgiana (United States) 6/23/2016 1:03 PM
Informative, creative, and overall very well put together. Love it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
good
M. Murdock (Boaz, AL) 6/23/2016 1:02 PM
bought this for my son...he loved it
ratingratingratingratingrating
Delicious!
Shira Price (United States) 6/23/2016 1:00 PM
A great introduction to the world of teas with wonderful recipes for food and cocktails!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Anne E. Rice-sosne (United States) 6/23/2016 12:58 PM
Wonderful and innovative, arrived in a timely fashion well packaged
ratingratingratingratingrating
The Great, The Good, and The Oops
Curt N Bradner (Denver, CO) 6/23/2016 12:56 PM
Some great recipes, some good recipes, and a few that are just plain wrong!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great book and extremely well made
Julia Morgan (United States) 6/23/2016 12:54 PM
Great book and extremely well made. It looks beautiful and has innovative as well as traditional recipes to share inside.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Sarah (United States) 6/23/2016 12:51 PM
Perfect
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Amazon Customer (United States) 6/23/2016 12:50 PM
great book shipped on time
ratingratingratingratingrating
Wonderful
DLR (Florida, USA) 6/23/2016 12:49 PM
Love this book. The photography is beautiful and the recipes are easy to follow. If you are a tea enthusiast (or know someone who is), this is a wonderful gift to yourself or someone else.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Four Stars
rhoppy6 (United States) 6/23/2016 12:47 PM
good
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Melanie (United States) 6/23/2016 12:45 PM
Great book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
This was a great price and the recipes are truly unique
LeAnn (United States) 6/23/2016 12:44 PM
I bought this as a gift as the recipient is an avid tea lover. This was a great price and the recipes are truly unique. It is true that some of the teas used are harder to find, but if you are ok ordering online, most can be easily had if you pre-plan your meals.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A Book to read, very interesting.
Sally A. Larhette (United States) 6/23/2016 12:43 PM
This book is the most incredible adventure into the tea world, so interesting that I could not put it down once I started to read it...Cindy Gold is the real deal, with her trip to China to a tea farm, picking and then roasting the tea leaves from the fog to the fire...And so much more....I can't wait to make ,Earl Grey Cream Tea Cake, a genoise.And many more recipes.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best Culinary Tea book
Char Lewis (Lakewood, CO) 6/23/2016 12:41 PM
I used recipes from this book for a Culinary Tea Party. The recipes are clear and easy to follow. It is full of anything you want to know about tea! Loved this book!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Lovely Book for Tea Lovers
N Thomas (Tuscon, AZ) 6/23/2016 12:39 PM
I've enjoyed this book more than I'd expected. It contains recipes that I want to try and the color photographs are lovely. It is a keeper for my kitchen book case.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Beautiful book but difficult recipes.
Erin (United States) 6/23/2016 12:36 PM
I love tea and everything about it, and the first part of this book really does a great job of exploring the history and the types of tea, but the recipes themselves are a little more complicated then I was hoping for. And with selections like "Shrimp in lemon-tea aspic with basil-tea jelly" I would even call them a bit pretentious. But it's a lovely book and does have some good information about tea, but be prepared for recipes that could be difficult and/or expensive to prepare. (The desserts and cocktails are probably the easiest to make).
ratingratingratingratingrating
Inspiring Experience
Lena Fay (United States) 6/23/2016 12:18 PM
I met Cindy at the Tea and Coffee Trade show a week ago in Oaks, PA. It was a great pleasure to attend the convention and learn more about my favorite hobby or a passion; the love of tea! I am a scientist and chemical engineer by degree and also an educator. I volunteer and teach children and adults chemistry, I developed my own programs Healthy Mind- Healthy Body Series. I was impressed by the book contents and visual presentation. I fully enjoyed the receipts and find a lot of useful information in the resource section.I got inspired by the book and created my own recipe for Lentil Soup.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Book!
Cameel Glad (United States) 6/23/2016 12:08 PM
I saw this book at a tea shop I was exploring out on vacation and I fell in love with it. The recipes are so fun!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great book
Amanda (United States) 6/23/2016 12:01 PM
Great book! Wonderful ideas! The recipes are creative and different, not to mention delicious and beautiful! A "must have" cook book for anyone who loves tea and loves to cook!
ratingratingratingratingrating
A must have for the tea lover
Raychel (United States) 6/23/2016 11:59 AM
Wonderful cookbook/book on tea! A cookbook featuring recipes that prominently feature tea is not something that is particularly easy to come across. This book combines interesting information about tea, about steeping it and cooking with it, and a ton of great recipes. The recipes are extremely varied, everything from appetizers to main dishes to desserts to a wide assortment of tea cocktails. This book would make any tea lover happy. Especially loved that tea resources were also included in the back of the book, nice touch. My only criticism would be I wished the book had included more images... the image on the cover is so pretty, I was really hoping for more like it within the book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
interesting and informative
Constance J. Wellnitz (United States) 6/23/2016 11:56 AM
This book provides much information about tea - e.g., the history, geography, steeping methodology and what specific characteristics differentiate one from another - that I didn't know before. The treatment of tea is much like that of wine - what pairs well with what, which characteristics determine how it should be used as both a drink and as an ingredient in a recipe - and I found it to be quite educational and deepened my appreciation of the nuances of a beverage I'm sure many people do not spend a lot of time thinking about.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Guide for tea lovers and cooks
Nikki (Houston, TX) 6/23/2016 11:55 AM
This book was purchased as a gift for a culinary student. She loves it. The book gives detailed information on different types of tea as well as recipes using the teas in everything from drinks to desserts.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Absolutely Phenomenal
Bookmaven (United States) 6/23/2016 11:53 AM
The best experience I've ever had with chai was during an intrepid overland journey from Lusaka to Dar Es Salaam. We stopped at a makeshift early morning bush cafe for chicken soup, roti and chai, the only menu items available. I have been searching for YEARS for a chai recipe that comes close to that wonderful experience. This book provided such a recipe. This book is very thorough, and provides excellent descriptions on nuances in choosing authentic products and avoiding branding traps when necessary. The tea egg recipe is as good as any I've had at my favorite Korean and Vietnamese bakeries. I've made several teas and the simple syrup. I love, love love the book. It's colorful, well, organized. Many of the recipes are simple and the authors are good about explaining sources and what to look for. The book alone is beautiful, but paired with it's contents, it's a true wonder. I've learned so much about teas simply making a few recipes from this book.
page12