Earl Grey Black Tea

Earl Grey Black Tea

Earl Grey is the world's most famous flavored black tea. Ours is delicately balanced with oil of bergamot.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(8 Ratings, 8 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Oh my goodness!!
Jessica S (Danville KY) 2/21/2017 6:14 PM
No other tea will do for me now. My husband and I absolutely love this tea! The smell is just amazing!
ratingratingratingratingrating
A lovely tea
Warren C Ingersoll (Chicago, IL) 4/27/2016 10:56 AM
I have loved several other teas from Elmwood, and on that basis I bought the Earl Grey. I knew it would be good, but even so I was blown away. Floral, aromatic, balanced, it is a delight.
ratingratingratingratingrating
This is a decent to good Earl Grey
The Electron Wizard (United States) 4/27/2016 10:55 AM
This is a decent to good Earl Grey. Far better than Twinings - the last batch of which was like water with a crayon dipped into it - and all of the supermarket brands. Not perfect because there are hints of some other flavors but good nonetheless. Note: you will need a tea ball.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Very dependable and a great value.
Erin E. Kramer (United States) 4/27/2016 10:54 AM
Tastes like plantation tea! I like the cornflowers in this one. Good citrus aromas, rich taste. Medium brown cuppa. You can use the leaves twice. 1minute for the first steep, and 3 min for the second one. I don't take anything in my tea, but I think this would be nice with a bit of milk, too.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A Fine Earl Gray priced right!
Straight-Talk (Miami, FL) 4/27/2016 10:52 AM
Beautiful aroma, nice re-sealable packaging, excellent flavor, great value compared to buying lesser quantities of tea. This is a quality product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
An interesting take on Earl Grey
MM (Valencia, CA) 4/27/2016 10:50 AM
I am a long time Earl Grey fanatic and daily consumer, and as such, I have had dozens of different renditions of this classic black tea. I very seldom reorder the same one in my neverending search for that EG holy grail. Overall, I find most to be anywhere from dull (Ahmad, Impra) to disgusting (Stash, Bigelow). Some however float above the pack, bringing something special or unexpected to the party. Dammann, Adagio, Numi, Tao of Tea are just a few. This might be one of those teas -- I just can't decide. Details to follow. Elmwood Inn's take on Earl Grey starts out with a quality, whole leaf, single estate Ceylon tea. The quality of the base stands above a vast universe of substandards -- usually bland, old or otherwise pulverized afterthoughts of the tea world. Along with a fine base tea are some beautiful blue cornflowers and those thin gold ribbons that often come with them. A visually attractive Earl Grey to be sure. The scent of this tea is one of those Earl Greys that stand out in a crowd. Bold, pungent aroma of true bergamot and a subtle but noticeable fennel-like essence. I see no indication that any such flavor is included, but I consistently pick it up nonetheless. After looking at and smelling this tea, I found the flavor to be exactly what I was expecting -- a light tea base (due to large leaf) with just enough bergamot flavor to take the driver's seat without completely overpowering the tea. And then there's that fennel-like flavor. Not strong or offensive, but just a bit odd for me in an Earl Grey. At times, I also pick up the slightest floral note -- maybe lavender? But then sometimes I don't. I guess that speaks to the delicacy of the flavor balance in this tea, which in itself is a relatively rare feat in an EG of this boldness. In any case, I do like this tea and consider it to be a fine value for what it is. It's very good both hot or over ice, and almost impossible to make bitter, due to the quality of the base tea.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Nice, fresh taste.
D. (United States) 4/27/2016 10:48 AM
I like this tea. It takes a bit more time than usually to be enough flavored. But taste is very soft and pleasant.
ratingratingratingratingrating
An Excellent Tea at a Great Price
TXP (United States) 4/27/2016 10:47 AM
First off, I'm a BIG tea drinker, with my favorite varieties being, in order, Earl Grey, Lapsong Souchong and English Breakfast. And my reference points for what represent "great teas" are Kusmi, Harney & Sons, Taylor's of Harrogate and (in the case of Lapsong) Mark T. Wendell (Hu Kwa). So take what I say within that context. When I first ordered this tea, there were no reviews and I was a bit skeptical that anything at this price point could measure up to what I'm accustomed to. Well, simply put, it does. This is a very good Earl Grey. The base Sri Lankan black, while not the Chinese black found in most Earl Greys, is large-leafed and of a very high quality. Moreover, the application of begamot oil, while somewhat bold, is not overpowering. So the bergamot has presence, but not to the point where you find yourself wondering if it's being used to camouflage weaknesses in the underlying tea (a common trick). And as for the cornflowers...well...they don't seem to have any impact at all -- which is probably a good thing. Compared to the other Earl Greys I'm accustomed to, I'd say this is most akin to Harney & Sons' Earl Grey Supreme. It more or less shares the Harney's tea/bergamot flavor balance, but possesses a bit more overall punch. Whereas the Taylor's puts significantly less emphasis on bergamot and the various Kusmi Earl Greys offer more overall subtlety (which they should, considering that they cost 4-6 times as much). All in all, this tea represents a very good value. The quality is significantly better than the price would suggest and the flavor should suit anyone who prefers a somewhat bold interpretation of the traditional Earl Grey recipe.
page1