Ying Ming Yunnan Black Tea

Ying Ming Yunnan Black Tea

This is a classic Chinese black tea with a bit of earthiness.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(13 Ratings, 13 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good stuff!
Zarah Scesa (United States) 4/27/2016 12:35 PM
I'm a huge fan of yunnan and this has become my all day e'ery day tea. Also makes amazing iced tea. You can't over brew it, it never gets bitter, it is velvety and soft and delicious. Nice big leaves, decent amount of tips. And at this price, need I say more?
ratingratingratingratingrating
Four Stars
frank (United States) 4/27/2016 12:34 PM
good tea good price
ratingratingratingratingrating
Pleased customer
Janet (Sacramento, CA) 4/27/2016 12:33 PM
I found this tea not to my liking, even though I've enjoyed Ying Ming Yunnan from two other sources. When I called Elmwood Inn Fine Teas with my comments, I was very graciously offered a full replacement of my choosing. I asked to sample two other of their Yunnan varieties, and received the samples within just 2 days, all the way from Kentucky to Hawaii! I phoned in my choice, and anticipate many pleasant mornings with Yunnan Imperial from Elmwood Inn Fine Teas. Yes, Fine Teas and Excellent Customer Service.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great tea and a great price.
drummin2life (Chicagoland, USA) 4/27/2016 12:31 PM
This is my favorite tea and has been for a while. I have a subscription for it and get a pound through Amazon every two months. It comes in a resealable, airtight, opaque bag and I don't notice any sticks, bugs or impurities in the tea. I read another review that said if you steep it too long it has an off taste. That applies to all teas; they get bitter if you steep too long. Some people thinking steeping longer makes it stronger, which is wrong. If you want it stronger just use more tea. I steep this for about 3 minutes and stir it once during that. It has a dark color, is complex and aromatic, with great flavor. I've tried several others I've found on Amazon, but this is still the best in my opinion. With the subscription, I get it for a little over $20 for a pound, so you can't beat the price. I'm very happy with this.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Fine cup for the price
J. Moore (Seattle, WA) 4/27/2016 12:29 PM
Dark brown/red color, slightly toasty caramel aroma. Nicely wet in the mouth, good astringency without ever becoming over bitter (even when brewed strong like I do...3.5 tablespoons to .75 liters of boiling water for 5 minutes). Missing the complexity of more rare Yunnan teas but often in the morning all I want is a strong silent type by my side. I have been trying to find a bargain every day tea on Amazon and so far this is the only one I will buy this one again.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Tea
Brandon Naylor (New York, NY) 4/27/2016 12:28 PM
This is a really nice tea, and it has a slight floral flavor. I will deftly buy this again, and look at Elmwood's other teas because of this experience.
ratingratingratingratingrating
So taisty
Keith Kofron (Tampa, FL) 4/27/2016 12:27 PM
A rich black tea full of flavor. The best Yunnan tea I have had. Tastes good iced as well. An amazing aroma too.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Tea
Josh (Orlando, FL) 4/27/2016 12:25 PM
I had some great Yunnan gold tipped tea last time I was in London from Whittard... This is nearly as good as that and a great price! I will certainly buy it again.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Delicious, smooth, earthy black tea
DudeManSir (United States) 4/27/2016 12:24 PM
One thing experienced tea drinkers know is how expensive a god Yunnan tea can be. They'd also tell you that a good Yunnan is one of the finer cups of tea you could have. I am no tea expert, but appreciate a good cup as much as the next tea-ist. I dont really make comments to the hints or notes of aspect of different teas. I do however categorize some of my favorite teas as earthy and smooth. That there is the best way to describe this tea. I am a lover of Pu-Erh tea since it really never seems to take on that astringency or bitterness that comes with over steeping. You will never find this much of a fine loose tea for this cost. Get it, drink it, be happy.
ratingratingratingratingrating
black tea
radio100 (Blaine, MN) 4/27/2016 12:23 PM
I use loose tea and reuse tea for several cups. Like most teas I find the 2nd and 3rd cup to be smoothest, this tea was no different. I brew my teas weaker than my British friend. The tea was very enjoyable. It has nice finish. I bought another lb of it. I like it better than the Elmwood Oolong. Mixing the two also produced a very enjoyable cup.
ratingratingratingratingrating
strong taste and good price
sulamit (United States) 4/27/2016 12:21 PM
ive regularly bought teavana teas, and decided to try this company. it has great taste and gives me more for my money's worth
ratingratingratingratingrating
Enjoyable tea
bcnewton50 (NC, United States) 4/27/2016 12:20 PM
I liked this tea, but I am not sure I would order it again just because of my own tea preferences. I would def. order another tea from Elmwood. The shipping was quick, the prices were reasonable and the packaging was air tight.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good everyday tea
Glenn Hummel (Crockett, CA) 4/27/2016 12:19 PM
I find this tea very passable as an everyday tea. Doesn't quite have the smoldering taste I am used to in other similar Yunnan teas. For the price I would purchase again.
page1