Little Book of Etiquette

Little Book of Etiquette by Dorothea Johnson

Don't leave home without this pocket-size book of etiquette essentials. Makes a great graduation gift!

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(42 Ratings, 42 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
good for Fine Dining
Elite Manners (United States) 7/7/2016 3:59 PM
I also wanted to ring in on this particular book. While it is small, don't be fooled. It offers a great deal of information on eating out, the do's and don'ts associated with putting your best foot forward, so to speak, and making a good impression when eating out. On the downside, etiquette and manners extend well beyond just the dining experience, so as a 'be all and end all' for all of your etiquette needs, I wouldn't recommend it. In fact, you can zip over to the elite manners website and just take a quick look to see that etiquette covers everything from the way you carry yourself, present yourself, introduce yourself, your choice of language, clothing, and mannerisms. With prom season upon us I just don't want anyone thinking that this book is about 'everything'. It is a VERY good book for eating out properly.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Perfect for young ladies.
Meredith H Schroeter (Griffin, GA) 7/7/2016 3:59 PM
I bought a copy of this book for each of the girls in my scout troop. We're getting ready for a limo ride and a night at a nice restaurant. It makes manners simple and they can throw it in their purse. Also, being a cute miniature books makes them want to read it. It's not overwhelming like a normal size book might be. I do wish it had a section on conversations. I had to download a separate article to cover that.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Etiquette in the size of a tea sandwich
Reader (United States) 7/7/2016 3:58 PM
This very small book is small enough to fit into even an evening clutch. It is a bit bigger than two packs of nice matches. If you want a printed, super-small etiquette book on hand, this is the best choice. I like this book, but it was not quite on target for what I wanted. This book is perfect for business people who want etiquette rules for entertaining. It is directed at a business audience, not for personal, social functions. Fortunately there is enough overlap to still be useful, because this covers all the basics - what to do and not do to with your hands at the table (lesser-known tip: don't touch your head) and what to do and not do with the table setting. It also has a section on navigating specific foods and another section on ordering drinks and what is okay and not okay to talk about at the table. There's also a nice section on toasting, tipping and the duties of the host and the duties of the guest. All in all, it is a useful, concise book on how to behave at table. It is an ideal little gift, but only if the person you are giving it to is not going to misinterpret your gift as a suggestion that they need help with their etiquette.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Little Book
Lil (Pittsburg, PA) 7/7/2016 3:57 PM
This little book is filled with a ton of good info, but this book is literally little aprox 3" x 3"
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great little book
Amazon Customer (United States) 7/7/2016 3:57 PM
Great little book! I see other reviewers were not happy that this book was only about eating out. That is correct however, I found this information quite useful. It is indeed a miniature book (a little bigger than a business card) so it would be impossible to make this a detailed book on ALL etiquette. It was very helpful and I like that it fit in my purse so I can take it with me when dinning out and hopefully avoid a mistake. More people need to read books like this. The majority of diners I have seen in upscale restaurants to laid back cafes, eat like slobs. This book will help you to eat and behave properly at the dinner table. Worth every penny!
ratingratingratingratingrating
A must read for the business person, or a lady of elegance and brains.
Time out for Fun (Myoden Ichikawa, Japan) 7/7/2016 3:56 PM
Things my Mother did not know to teach me. Great international understanding about eating styles. You should know how to eat correctly since modern business meetings take place around the table these days. When cutting something on your plate slide the knife toward you in one direction, not sawing back and forth. Plus how to decline wine politely.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Which fork do I use?
benetal (CA, United States) 7/7/2016 3:54 PM
A great little table etiquette book for anyone including prepping for a first date or brushing up prior to an important dinner. The State Department routinely sent employees to an out of town,very expensive course based on this tiny book. We can do the same for a fraction of the price. Have confidence you are doing the "right" thing at the table at all times. Amazon verified.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Check etiquwette as you dash.....
sailor lady (United States) 7/7/2016 3:54 PM
As you are ready to dash out the door, you can check etiquette for continental style, business , etc. dinners. Which fork? Don't wonder....this cute book gives you the answers. Another great gift for a grandson.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Small on big.
Paul C. Cowell (United States) 7/7/2016 3:53 PM
So much of our dining society has fallen from grace. When the come to the table with a hat on and sit at the table with their elbows on the table as they consume a meal. To me these people have not had a favorable parental raising. This book should be given out every year just like the phone books. Our eating habits speak to others of how we feel for ourselves.
ratingratingratingratingrating
VERY tiny book
cindyanne (United States) 7/7/2016 3:52 PM
This book is VERY tiny; perfect to carry with you even in a small purse. Etiquette books can be detailed and definitely too large to carry along. The Little Book of Etiquette is not only easy to carry but is full of basic and useful information. A gift idea for a graduate or bride.
ratingratingratingratingrating
The book has very good information and it is literally a "Little Book of ...
Ruth R. Ruppert (Camp Lejeune, NC) 7/7/2016 3:52 PM
The book has very good information and it is literally a "Little Book of Etiquette" at a size of 3 1/4 x 2 3/4. Again, the information is good. I don't know why it is so small. Look at the size before purchasing. My expectation was for a small book but not quite so small.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Don't let its size fool you
Amazon Customer (Trinidad) 7/7/2016 3:51 PM
I didn't expect this book to be quite so small (it really is a LITTLE book of etiquette), but it packs a good punch. Contained in its small pages is the information you need to know to make a good impression at the dinner table. I bought this to use with the kids I teach in my cooking club, and it has come in quite handy so far. All in all, a handy little resource.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Little book is right; it's TINY!
Meg (United States) 7/7/2016 3:50 PM
Little book is right! It's so small that I had to use a magnifying glass to read it. It's 3" x 2 1/2" in size. The beginning of the book is all "Do's and Don'ts" listed which is very easy to understand. The second part is course by course in detail of what to do. I liked the content of the book, but the size is ridiculous!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Helpful book before the meal
Judy (OC, California) 7/7/2016 3:47 PM
The Little Book of Etiquette helps people to enjoy their meals with confidence. People judges others by how they eat. So, it's good to know about the etiquette and table manner. This book is very small, so it's not easy to flip the page, but it can fit in the pocket or purse. I wish the book was little bigger, so I gave them four stars.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Very Little
Ms. Red (United States) 7/7/2016 3:46 PM
This book really is very little - maybe about 2" square! It was okay - and I should have read the dimensions - but there are probably better sources on this subject that are more substantial :) Fits in the purse is the biggest plus!
ratingratingratingratingrating
This comes in handy!
Dorinda A. Cox (United States) 7/7/2016 3:45 PM
A small treasure. The book is only 3" X 3 1/4", but packed with valuable information. For those of us who have not been afforded the opportunity to attend a charm school, or have not had an older person to instruct us in the proper ways of etiquette, there is help in this little book. It is so small, you can carry it in your purse and quickly refer to it when needed. It has come in handy for me.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Cute & helpful book
Corin E. Huckeba (Pisgah Forest, NC) 7/7/2016 3:44 PM
As previous reviews said it is little, 3" x 3", but it's cute & a fun little gift with some helpful stuff in it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Cute Little Book
LY1021 (United States) 7/7/2016 3:44 PM
Interesting and useful little book if anyone needs to refresh their etiquette skills. It truly is very little. Would make excellent bridal shower favors.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Small and helpful
Virgo (United States) 7/7/2016 3:43 PM
This book is tiny but has distilled information on table manners and manners in general. It is worth the price and you can take it along on your fancy trip so you know exactly what to do!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Etiquette
sophie (United States) 7/7/2016 3:42 PM
I didn't realize it was truly a "little book" which I found disappointing, but the information and tips are great. It arrived promptly and in good condition.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Awesome little pocket book to own
Jessica Suarez (United States) 7/7/2016 3:41 PM
Awesome little pocket book to own. Teaches you everything about etiquette. Very handy to have in the car or purse for special occasions. Everyone must own one.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Cute!
Stephanie Vlandis (United States) 7/7/2016 3:40 PM
It is so tiny, but so cute and perfect for a purse! I didn't realize the "little book" meant it would be so little, but I love it!
ratingratingratingratingrating
The Little Book of Etiquette
Eugenio Leal (United States) 7/7/2016 3:39 PM
It is a Litte Book of Etiquette, But make sure you mention that is a miniature. I was shock of the side of the book but still love it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A little book that packs a mighty message
Joceylyn Stevens (United States) 7/7/2016 3:39 PM
AMAZING little book!! Packed with great easy steps to presenting your best self! Tiny enough to store in your purse/pocket on the go!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Fun
Novi (United States) 7/7/2016 3:38 PM
How can I stop giggling every time I think of all the "don't do's" such as "do not mop your face with the napkin."
page12