Taking Tea with Alice

Taking Tea with Alice by Dawn Hylton & Diane Sedo

Bring Alice in Wonderland to life at your next children's tea party with this illustrated collection of teatime ideas and recipes.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(29 Ratings, 28 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
BJ Ross (United States) 6/10/2016 11:13 AM
A lovely book for helping to plan tea parties. Our museum is in an old Vitorian house where we also serve tea parties & this little book provides some wonderful ideas for settings & recipes.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Taking tea with Alice
B. W. Jackson (Chalfont, PA) 6/10/2016 11:11 AM
Terrific book for girls who have tea parties with their grandparents, parents, or friends. It gives them an idea as to how a tea is to go.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great for Tea Party Planning
Tomasina (United States) 6/10/2016 11:10 AM
I gave this to my friend, who is an avid Alice In Wonderland collector. She loves to give tea parties and she was delighted with the book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
the nicest little tea book
Karen Gianni (Chandler, AZ) 6/10/2016 11:09 AM
I have purchased several copies this book for friends, to be used as invitations to tea and for my granddaughters flowcharts. The SCONE recipe can't be beat and overall, absolutely delightful.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea with Alice
G. Girard (California, USA) 6/10/2016 11:08 AM
Really beautiful pictures and great ideas for food, table settings, and party decorations. Well worth reading if you are planning any kind of tea party.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Planning a tea party
mariomac (United States) 6/10/2016 11:07 AM
This is a fabulous little book - lots of beautiful ideas for tea parties and planning a birthday party with this theme. It's also just a beautiful book to have.
ratingratingratingratingrating
taking tea with alice
Nancy J. Jacobsen (United States) 6/10/2016 11:05 AM
I love the book. It was a gift and I haven't given it yet.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea with Alice
S. Morgan (Amarillo, TX) 6/10/2016 11:04 AM
Lovely little book for hosting tea parties. Nice recipes, table settings and party activities.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A must have
Sallianne McClelland (NY, USA) 6/10/2016 11:04 AM
Diane Sedo and Dawn Hylton have presented a beautiful book with wonderful illustrations and photos on a topic that is dear to many people's hearts. The "art" of taking tea should not be lost and I am thankful that these ladies are ensuring that this particular art is being kept alive.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good Book
JCW (United States) 6/10/2016 11:02 AM
Good book. Would have given it 5 stars if every topic followed the "Alice" theme.
ratingratingratingratingrating
It is a nice book with lots of ideas
Gerald D. Inge (United States) 6/10/2016 11:00 AM
Bought this for my wife to do tea parties with our daughter and graddaughters. It is a nice book with lots of ideas.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great tea party concept book
cat (United States) 6/10/2016 10:58 AM
Great tea party concept book! I love the recipes in it and have used a few when I have had tea parties, both with girlfriends and children! There is something for everyone in here.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Four Stars
Julie (United States) 6/10/2016 10:57 AM
A fun book to look at. Has recipes that I can add to my collection.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A very fun and interesting Read
Carol Ann Kollar (United States) 6/10/2016 10:56 AM
I can not wait to try some of the suggestions in this book. I can hardly wait to use some of the ideas in my Tea Room.
ratingratingratingratingrating
wonderful wonderland parties
Karen Gianni (Chandler, AZ) 6/10/2016 10:54 AM
I already own this book and love it. I plan to use it as an invitation to high tea at MY home. The scones cannot be beat!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Gorgeous Victorian-style high teas
Sylvie C. (California, USA) 6/10/2016 10:53 AM
For adults and children. Styles are intermixable. Be prepared for a lot of work, and don't forget to add the traditional and easily made cucumber tea sandwiches. There are some excellent recipes for them on the Web. Bread and cookie cutters in a variety of fancy shapes are sold cheaply at Japanese dollar stores like Daiso. Not to worry if you don't have the lavish tableware shown. Use appropriate pastel and clear plastic partyware and fresh flowers to supplement suitable items you might have on hand. Treasures can also be found among china and glassware at thrift stores and garage sales. You really can't miss making something beautiful using ideas and recipes from this wonderful book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
FUN FOR ADULTS AND KIDS ALIKE
kevin schrammen (United States) 6/10/2016 10:46 AM
Great and fun book. Great recipes and a very enjoyable time. I would buy it again. Word S of AZ.
ratingratingratingratingrating
ALICE BOOK
b a (United States) 6/10/2016 10:44 AM
This is a lovely book; only got it used, but it has neatly and thought out recipes within. It took a long time to come as it came from England, but worth the purchase price. Thanks.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Alice in Wonderland tea party
Pat (Loveland, OH) 6/10/2016 10:41 AM
Great book for party decorations and recipes. A lot of cute ideas for children's parties but can be adapted for adult tea parties as well.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Taking Tea with Alice
pamwasabox (United States) 6/10/2016 10:39 AM
A sweet little book full of ideas for "high tea" and party games in the vintage style. It also has numerous recipes to make.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Even though it is geared towards children, it is a delight for adults!
Jackie Leonard (Atlanta, GA) 6/10/2016 10:38 AM
Even though this book is geared toward children it is a must have for the adult tea giver. I host an annual Alice in Wonderland Tea that I do for adults only and I have gotten so many clever ideas from it. It is the kind of book you will go over many times because every time I do, I get a new idea! The recipes, surprisingly, are accurate and delicious. Having tried many, I can assure you they are pretty much "spot on". It is truly a magical book and a must have for every tea party hostess.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Taking Tea With Alice
Sharon E. Mccoy (Huntington, WV) 6/10/2016 10:36 AM
This book is filled from cover to cover with all kinds of wonderful ideas for many different kinds of tea parties. I LOVE this book and would definitely recommend it to my friends!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
A wonderful and creative help!
Patricia (Florida, USA) 6/10/2016 10:34 AM
My daughter and I had many fun hours planning and hosting several parties for some other small homeschooled friends. We mixed a few recipes and substituted some games to suit a diverse age group. Our guests were very complimentary and we received many hugs in thanks.
ratingratingratingratingrating
One of the best tea party books available
Jennifer Petersen (United States) 6/10/2016 10:31 AM
No tea library should be without "Taking Tea with Alice". It is well-conceived and a source of many creative ideas. The photos are wonderful. I particularly liked the children's photos and have found them useful in prompting ideas for other children's tea parties. The table layouts are accurate and beautiful. The ideas presented are within the means of any tea party organizer. This book is a good value and not filled with fluff. An informative, fun book for all ages!
ratingratingratingratingrating
A beautiful book with very creative party ideas
Amazon Customer (United States) 6/10/2016 10:30 AM
This is a wonderful book for anyone interested in Alice in Wonderland, Tea, or just plain entertaining. The book is beautifully illustrated and contains many creative party ideas for children and adults alike. I have tried, and enjoyed, several of the recipes - I particularly recommend the trifle - a real show stopper! I also enjoyed the historical information about the "real" Alice. This book is a "must" for any lover of good food and gracious entertaining.
page12