Tea and Etiquette

Tea & Etiquette: Taking Tea for Business and Pleasure

The founder of the Protocol School of Washington has teamed up with Tea Maestro Bruce Richardson for the definitive book on teatime etiquette. Third edition. Never make a tea faux pas again!

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(30 Ratings, 29 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
helpful etiquette for not only home tea parties, but business ones, too
nancy ann walters (United States) 6/22/2016 1:36 PM
This book gave some history of taking tea, including etiquette of business teas. I wish it had a few more instructions on how to properly set up a tea table, like where to place cutlery, etc, but otherwise it was pretty comprehensive
ratingratingratingratingrating
The book was informative but I'm looking for the answer ...
Beverly Johnson (United States) 6/22/2016 1:35 PM
The book was informative but I'm looking for the answer to one question. In a low tea, where do you place the teaspoon on the table setting? We had a competition last year on the correct table setting for a low tea and I never found the answer to that question. One lady said it goes in the tea cup but I'm looking for conformation. I thought it would be in the book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Lori Pollock (United States) 6/22/2016 1:35 PM
excellent
ratingratingratingratingrating
Four Stars
Florider 36 (United States) 6/22/2016 1:34 PM
This is a quick and informative read at a great price.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
shannon (United States) 6/22/2016 1:33 PM
Every lady needs to know proper etiquette.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
LOTTIE (United States) 6/22/2016 1:32 PM
It was just what I needed for a special project.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great book
di3697 (Vancouver, WA) 6/22/2016 1:32 PM
I love this book. It is very informative and educational on the history of tea. The book covers British and American history of tea. Love the book so much I bought one for a friend.
ratingratingratingratingrating
The Epitome of Grace and Elegance
Jennifer C. Petersen (Vancouver, WA) 6/22/2016 1:31 PM
Dorothea Johnson has trained state department staff, Fortune 500 leaders, corporate protocol officers and many other people - too many to mention. She is considered the "go-to" source for modern etiquette and global protocol. As much as I enjoy etiquette reference books by Letitia Baldridge, Emily Post and Peggy Post, it is to Ms. Johnson that I turn for current information. Many authors, including wannabes on the Internet, may try to duplicate her tutorials, they sometimes miss the nuances of proper etiquette. Basing several tea etiquette tips on the Queen's protocol, we learn how to hold our teacups, correctly pronounce "scone", arrange a tiered tea tray and more. Tea & Etiquette is large enough to cover what we need to know and small enough for us to absorb without becoming overwhelmed in do's and don'ts. Any serious tea person needs this book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Perfect for My needs
churchlady (United States) 6/22/2016 1:25 PM
This book is exactly what I needed to help me get my new tea room for authors up and running.
ratingratingratingratingrating
for tea
Tami Gilliatt (United States) 6/22/2016 1:24 PM
I love to read and reread this book. It has lots of great ideas and tips. The pictures are beautiful as well.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Very Informative
Dixie Gray (United States) 6/22/2016 1:23 PM
I love having tea and I thought I'd see if I was "having" it correctly!! ;-) So please to find out that I am not a total loss when it comes to etiquette!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea & etiquette
Marie Y Johnson (North Powder, Oregon) 6/22/2016 1:21 PM
When you go back in time to a place of simple life's pleasures & want information to seek such a thing we go to the people in today's technology to bring that to us in such a way that the pioneers of our past would never understand how we could like in such a way a butterfly takes off out of view. We live in a place where we still have peace and quiet not so rushed but there is no time to wait for anything we want it now without the patience of waiting for it. The media, phones & the internet supply us with all the conveniences of no time at all, but we know that someone behind the lines is at breakneck speed to send off a product for someone to enjoy. Thank you for you time.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea & Etiquette
Susan Willingham (United States) 6/22/2016 1:20 PM
This is written by a well recognized professional in tea. I like that it brings a European flair in explaining the more established rules of drinking and serving tea in the West. Most etiquette originated to insure the well being and comfort of all the guests rather than an admonishment of what you didn't do right. This book offers a nice blend of proper manners delivered in a relaxed way which is exactly the point of etiquette to me. I have a serious interest in tea and enjoyed adding this to my collection. The more seasoned tea drinker may just skip the more historical descriptions of the arrival of tea and the botany basics but this does not detract from making yourself a cup of tea and enjoying a pleasant read. I learned several things.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea & Etiquette: Taking Tea for Business and Pleasure
MsChrisVA (Linden, VA) 6/22/2016 1:19 PM
This was life saver. Reasonably priced. Easy reading, not overwhelming in content nor size. Have loaned to other tea etiquette seekers.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Nice Addition to My Collection
Ingrid (Glen Arm, Maryland) 6/22/2016 1:18 PM
I love the tea time and collect books about tea. This is a nice addition to my collection. Pretty pictures.
ratingratingratingratingrating
exactly what i was looking for!
HCasa (Mount Holly, NJ) 6/22/2016 1:16 PM
I really enjoyed this book. It is exactly what i was looking for. there are a few recipes but mostly this whole book is dedicated to the etiquette of serving or attending tea. well written in a sense that it does not talk down to you- rather an enlightenment of the proper way to enjoy tea. a great read!
ratingratingratingratingrating
A good read
Bron (Australia) 6/22/2016 1:15 PM
I purchased this book in hope of being supplied with a good overview of what a "real" afternoon tea is rather than relying on my own assumptions. I am very satisfied. It was very easy to read, gave me info on past and present, and it was delightful to learn the etiquette side of taking tea. I also loved all the quotes throughout the book.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea and Etiquette by Johnson
L. M. Durkin (United States) 6/22/2016 1:14 PM
This is a wonderful little book. If you enjoy "all things tea" then this is the book for you. Easily read, with details about proper etiquette for every type of social and business situation. It truly would be a nicer world if people (including children) were more often taught these things. Mrs. Johnson intersperses the chapters with interesting personal stories and recipes. I highly recommend it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great For A Hostess
H. Obymako (California) 6/22/2016 1:13 PM
I bought this book because I was never a tea drinker, but always felt left out as the popularity of now drinking tea started. I knew nothing about different types, how to serve it, what to serve with it, and just the simple things everyone knows. This book helped me with all of that and now I even like tea. After a few hours of reading, I know more about tea etiquette than anyone I know.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Taking Tea for Business and Pleasure
Pamela A. Bocek (O'Fallon, MO) 6/22/2016 1:11 PM
This is a very informative and enjoyable book. A pleasure to read, it gets right to the point and does not waste time. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in Tea for Business and Pleasure!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Finally a book with everything...
L. Cancino (Nassau, Bahamas) 6/22/2016 1:10 PM
I am starting a small catering business doing tea parties! This book is perfect! It has everything you always wanted to know about preparing, enjoying and serving tea. From the different types of tea from Cream Tea to High Tea and what to do with the tea bag after you've taken it out of your tea cup. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to serve and to enjoy a proper afternoon of tea. Thank you for being so thorough.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good Reference on tea entertainment
Amazon Customer (United States) 6/22/2016 1:09 PM
I find this book very useful and informative. The author presents the material in a concise and down to earth manner. The etiquette portion of this book contains do's and do not's that leaves no questions. The tone of the book is conversational just like the topic it explains. If you are thinking about having a tea party for the first time or attending to one, this book is a must read!
ratingratingratingratingrating
This book was a pure delight
wymanf@aol.com (Riverside, CA) 6/22/2016 1:08 PM
I enjoyed this book so well, I'm sending a copy to my sister. The Simple pleasures in life can be the greatest. Graciousness in easy to read and apply form.
ratingratingratingratingrating
An excellent guide for etiquette in the 90's.
Amazon Customer (United States) 6/22/2016 1:07 PM
This book is an excellent follow-up to Mrs. Johnson's miniature book "The Little Book of Etiquette". It primarily focuses on etiquette in the tea room, but it also discusses everyday etiquette as well as business etiquette. This is an easy to understand, user-friendly book. A must for anyone who loves to take tea.
ratingratingratingratingrating
You Don't Need to be Miss Manners to Like This Book!
Amazon Customer (United States) 6/22/2016 1:06 PM
What a useful book! This book did not talk down to me, nor did I feel like I had to be a Miss Manners to enjoy this book. It helped me plan a wedding shower for my sister; every quest complimented me after and wanted a copy of the book.
page12