Children's Tea and Etiquette

Children's Tea & Etiquette by Dorothea Johnson

Dorothea Johnson's best-selling book brings children and grandparents together for tea time - and a bit of civility! Grandparents, this is the perfect gift for your grandchildren.

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(13 Ratings, 12 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
This book is a delight for all 3 generations.
R. Zavakos (United States) 6/21/2016 4:48 PM
This is a lovely book. I had seen it in a book store and knew I could get a better price on Amazon. The color illustrations are beautiful and I received it promptly. I enjoyed it as much as my daughter and granddaughter did.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Cristy Davila (United States) 6/21/2016 4:46 PM
Perfect for teaching little people.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A wonderful book to share with children and grandchildren
Nancy D. Griffeth (United States) 6/21/2016 4:44 PM
My husband and I gave this book to our granddaughter for her birthday. We read the etiquette parts together, and honestly I learned a number of things I didn't know before, like where to leave your napkin when you're leaving the table briefly versus permanently. Then my granddaughter and I tested almost all of the recipes for her birthday party. This was one of the highlights of my year! Recipe review: they were all really good, but all had lots of butter and the dessert-type had lots of sugar. The lemon bars in particular disappeared almost immediately, but were almost too sweet (apparently not quite too sweet, all were eaten). The oatmeal bars with dried fruit were a big favorite of the adults. Personally, I liked the savory cheese tarts (but I'm crazy about anything with cheese).
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good for chidlren
A. M. May (United States) 6/21/2016 4:43 PM
Good etiquette book for children. Guide for teaching children table manners.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
Jean Pettis (United States) 6/21/2016 4:26 PM
Helped very much.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A Big Hit
J. Watkins (Boise, Idaho) 6/21/2016 4:25 PM
I bought this book along with a selection of other "tea time" items as a gift for a friend's six year old granddaughter. What a big hit the whole thing has been. The etiquette guide must have worked - she gave me a thank you note and a lovely miniature rose.
ratingratingratingratingrating
This is great for young children who don't have electronic gadgets yet
S. M. Kwandrans (Tyngsborough, MA) 6/21/2016 4:20 PM
This is a great book for young children, especially those who don't have electronic gadgets yet, and whose minds haven't been poisoned by too much media--loud, hyperactive television in particular. The book is framed around grandparents who have invited their grandchildren to a tea party. They are introduced to Dorothea Johnson, a noted etiquette specialist and instructor, who coaches them on 'good manners', which sounds much less strange and intimidating than "etiquette". The tea party is held at the local botanical garden, with a speaker (John Harney) giving a brief history of tea, from China to the present day. All in all, the book does an excellent job presenting a lot of information simply, and even includes simple recipes children can make with their parents. Dawn Peterson, the illustrator, has done an excellent job making complex ideas simple with her maps of tea-growing areas, tea etiquette (how to cut a scone), and has drawn my mum's de Havilland (sp.?) china in the illustrations (I think it looks like her china). I think this book is ideal for the quiet 3 or 4 year old child who likes to read, hasn't been introduced to hand-held electronic games, hasn't ripped their stuffed animals to shreds, and likes to play 'make believe tea party' with their dolls and friends with the same interests (esp. reading and 'make believe', which there's too little of, nowadays, I think.) But, for the rest of the children out there who are wired into everything, and scheduled into every sport and or 'accomplishment' possible, they won't have the understanding, time, or patience to learn about 'good manners' or the idea of 'taking tea'.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Children's Tea and Etiquette
Harvey D. Correll (Sykesville, MD) 6/21/2016 4:14 PM
We have a Brownie Troop and their Mothers Day gift to their mother is a Tea Party that they are making happen and this book provided all the answers. Great addition to our library
ratingratingratingratingrating
What a great idea
Brenda N. (Midwest USA) 6/21/2016 4:12 PM
I purchased this book for my six year old granddaughter but I made certain to read it before sending it on for her birthday. It is quite a charming book for children (and grownups) who love tea parties. The children not only attend a tea party with their grandparents but they are taught all about how they are expected to act and how to eat properly during the tea party. The storyline is quite good and the illustrations are beautiful. I am told my granddaughter liked it very much. I would definitely purchase it for any child but also note that tea parties we have at home do not have to be so formal.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Children's Tea and Etiquette
Ellen M. Wasilewski (Chester, CT) 6/21/2016 4:09 PM
This is a very good book for the older child interested in learning about the history of tea, and about good etiquette.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Children's Tea & Etiquette is highly recommended as an instructional tool
Midwest Book Review (Oregon, WI) 6/21/2016 4:07 PM
Children's Tea & Etiquette: Brewing Good Manners in Young Minds is more than a simple picturebook - it is a thoughtful etiquette manual to instruct readers in how to properly enjoy afternoon tea. Many of the social graces discussed extend into the practice of the general world. From basic polite phrases such as "please", "thank you", "may I", and "you're welcome", to what RSVP means, to table manners for a tea party (such as not picking up one's napkin until the host has), to the importance of writing a thank-you note, Children's Tea & Etiquette is highly recommended as an instructional tool for preparing young people to do well in formal situations. Beautiful, soft pastel color illustrations by Dawn Peterson, a handful of recipes, and notes on the history of tea parties round out this good manners primer.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Children's Tea and Etiquette
Brenda S. Frazier (United States) 6/21/2016 4:05 PM
I found the book to be absolutely delightful. My etiquette students will have fun putting together their first tea!
page1