Tea in the City: New York - CLOSE-OUT

Elizabeth Knight and Bruce Richardson introduce you to all things tea in New York City. Handy pocket size for easy traveling!

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(15 Ratings, 15 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea in the City: New York City
L. Jennings (Kentucky, USA) 6/24/2016 4:12 PM
We used this book on two recent trips to NYC as a guide book for planning 4 different afternoon teas. Excellent!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Worth every penny!
ElenitaB (Brooklyn, NY) 6/24/2016 4:12 PM
I had slight sticker shock and hesitated to buy this book. In fact, when it arrived, I was a bit unhappy with the small size. Having perused this small tome (with a cuppa in hand, of course), I've come to realize that my reservations were in vain. What a great book for the tea lover! This guide is not only informative, but well written. I'll be reading it again and again, and I'm sure that many a happy afternoon will be spent in the City (and here in Brooklyn, too) thanks to Ms. Knight. The only downside is that the fifth NYC borough is not mentioned... sounds like a great opportunity for someone in Staten Island to rise to the occasion for a possible (and hoped for by this reader) 2008 edition.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Take a Tea Trip!
Andrea (Long Island, NY) 6/24/2016 4:11 PM
If you enjoy tea, why not take a tea trip in my hometown, New York? With this book, you can plan out everything. I have found the information provided by Ms. Knight to be accurate and have also learned a few interesting tidbits about tea culture. The excellent photos are worth noting as well. With more and more tea places popping up (and I've noticed a few recently), I hope they plan to put out updated editions. But this is by far the best tea guidebook I've seen, and a necessity for any tea lover who spends time in New York City.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A unique perspective on NYC
Amazon Customer (United States) 6/24/2016 4:11 PM
What I really love about Tea in the City is the breadth and depth of Ms. Knight's profiles, especially when it comes to non-traditional tea rooms. This is the first guide I've seen that really makes an effort to incorporate the newer influx of modern East Asian tea destinations, rather than limiting itself to British and hotel teas (though these are here as well). Although I work in NYC, this guide may inspire me to try some new places in some neighborhoods I haven't visited in a while. I also find this guide more male-friendly than most tea books.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Perfect New York City tea guide
Paula Link (Sayville, NY) 6/24/2016 4:10 PM
This is the perfect guide to tuck in your handbag or pocket when going to New York City. Color coded maps tell you the tea spots available in each area of NYC. Daily hours, phone numbers, subway stops nearby, websites, decor, approximate costs, and description of teas and food are included. This will be in my handbag anytime I take a train into New York City.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Awesome!
blondie (United States) 6/24/2016 4:09 PM
Going for tea is my new "thing" that relaxes me. I found this book and picked one up for me and a friend. I haven't taken it out of my bag because it's so useful. I look forward to the winter when I can check out all these places and cozy up with a nice cup of tea (who knew they all existed???!) and meet up with the girls to catch up.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Comprehensive NYC Tea-lover's Guide Book!
Nancy Reppert (Mechanicsburg, PA) 6/24/2016 4:09 PM
This guide book is the ultimate pocket sized guide to tea rooms, tea shops, tea salons, hotel teas, and more (!) for NYC. The book is divided into sections and color coded to the districts in the city so if you're in one area, you won't miss all the tea locations that surround that area. The beautiful photography by B. Richardson enhances the delightful writing style of E. Knight. The lightweight, convenient size will slip into a purse or backpack easily. This book is a 'must have' if you are travelling into NYC. I also recommend it as a delightful arm chair read for those who are content in staying home.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A World Tea Tour
pucgal (United States) 6/24/2016 4:08 PM
If you like to travel on your stomach, like I do, this is a virtual world tour in one city. From Afghan to The Astor Court, it's all here to savor with helpful descriptions and directions. This book will always be packed in my New York bag.
ratingratingratingratingrating
I think tea is the new coffee!
Mary Carlomagno (United States) 6/24/2016 4:07 PM
This book is unique! The concise descriptions, colorful designs and user friendly maps makes this book easy to navigate. I had no idea there was so much to explore in New York City that is tea related. Elizabeth Knight does a wonderful job laying it all out with reviews, information, store hours, the works! It even includes places to go in Brooklyn, the Bronx and Queens. I might just give up coffee, after all!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Five Stars
C. Curtis Vreeland (United States) 6/24/2016 3:22 PM
A nice balance of New York tea lore and salon reviews, both beautifully presented.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A sipping and shopping delight
Margaret J. Cofer (Alexandria, VA) 6/24/2016 3:19 PM
purchased several of these books to give to friends and colleagues as offers of friendship and graciousness. The author has created an indepth study and demonstrates her exquisite knowledge of where to shop, and where is enjoy the tea experience.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea in the City: New York
R. Button (Pennsylvania, USA) 6/24/2016 3:18 PM
I've lived in the New York area for over 30 years and had no idea New York offered SO MANY places to try/sip tea. This is a definitive guide! It is easily organized and peppered with wonderful ancedotes of tea lore as well as tea information. Out of towners will find it very helpful and even true New Yorkers will discover abundant surprises. The book's size makes it easy to carry in pocket or purse.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Ne York's World of Tea in the Palm of Your Hand
Sandy M. Bushberg (Hood River, OR) 6/24/2016 3:16 PM
New York is the greatest city in the world. It has everything you can imagine, including wonderful places to explore the world of tea and all it's delights. The one thing this great city didn't have, is the definitive guide to all its tea hotpots: Until now that is. Elizabeth Knight provides us with extremely delightful and useful portable little book with which to expand our senses and knowledge about tea in the city. With this in hand you can set out for a day of tea experiences in the city with the confidence that each new place will be as or more enjoyable than the last. So pick up your copy now and begin your journey through New York's world of tea. Enjoy!
ratingratingratingratingrating
The zagat book for tea
Michelle Rabin Ph.D. (Hood River, Oregon) 6/24/2016 3:15 PM
If I still lived in the city, I'd go through the entire book, checking out one place at a time. For visitors, it allows the user to check out everything and choose what would be the best place for their taste. From the perfect size guide to the thoughtfully placed photos and realistic descriptions, this is a must for any tea lover who finds themself in the big apple. I applaud Ms. Knight and Mr Richardson for their beautiful presentation and well written jewel. Thank you
ratingratingratingratingrating
Tea in the City - New York...A must read!
Robert Young (Mechanicsburg, PA) 6/24/2016 3:13 PM
Whether or not you are planing to go to New York City, this is one tea guide you must read. Not only will you enjoy the lively pace of this quick read, but you will be hard pressed to not run out immediately and take tea. Ms. Knight's descriptive attention to detail and Bruce Richardson's beautiful photographs blend together to make this tea guide a fabulous find that no true tea-lover would ever be without.
page1